Central Escarpment

You signed up to be a leader.....Thank you! Now what?

Upcoming Courses

Group Commissioner Course

If you are a Group Commissioner, there is a course to help you in your role. The course is comprised of 4 modules but are distinctly different  from a section Wood Badge Part I.  The 4 modules are:

  • Module 1 – Group Management Fundamentals
  • Module 2 – New Scouter Recruitment and Development
  • Module 3 – Group Management
  • Module 4 – Program Delivery from a Group Manager Perspective

If you do not have a Wood Badge I that was received in the last three years, Module 1 – Fundamentals (from the section) is  a prerequisite for this course.    Module 1-Fundamentals can be taken online or offered separately at the area level.


Online Training

You may complete the modules in the Wood Badge Part I online.  You can complete all 5 modules through e-learning at the Scouts Canada National website http://www.scouts.ca/elearn/ You will need to register with a log-in and password in order to commence. 

For details on how to complete the Wood Badge  Part 1 online and how to start e-learning, click on the following link:  http://www.scouts.ca/elearn/


Wood Badge Part I Courses

Facilitated Face to Face Training sessions may be arranged in your area depending on the demand.  If you would like to have facilitated training in your area talk to your Deputy Area Commissioner for Training and Development or email the DCC Training at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Wood Badge Part I

When you sign up to be a leader or a Group Committee Member, you agree to take Wood Badge Part I training to help you learn what it is to be a leader and to be involved in the best Youth Movement there is.

Wood Badge Part I is comprised of five modules as follows:

Module 1 - Fundamentals(Core)
Module 2 - Program Support (Section Specific)
Module 3 - Planning (Section Specific)
Module 4 - Running an Effective Meeting (Section Specific)
Module 5 - Putting the "OUT" in Scouting (Section Specific)

Each module is approximately 3 hours in length. Once Module 1 is completed, then the modules can be taken in any order; at any time. Once all five modules are completed, then the woggle recognition will be awarded.


If you have completed a Wood Badge Part I within the last three years, and are changing sections, you may only need to complete the Section Specific Modules (Modules 2-5).  Verify this with the DAC - Development & Training in your Area.

Scouts Canada, the country’s leading youth organization, offers challenging programs for boys, girls and youth age 5-26 in thousands of individual groups in most cities and towns across Canada.